Home News The full list of the newly elected councillors after the 2021 elections

The full list of the newly elected councillors after the 2021 elections


It has been a long weekend, but we now have all the results from Thursday’s local elections.

Voters went to the polls in Bristol and beyond on May 6 in what was dubbed Super Thursday, one of the biggest sets of local elections for many years.

On Friday evening the race to become Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner was won by Conservative Mark Shelford.

On Saturday afternoon, it was declared that Dan Norris had been elected the next Combined Authority Mayor for the West of England (WECA) and it was later announced that Marvin Rees had been re-elected as the Mayor of Bristol.

And today, ballots for the local councillors elections have been counted and we now have all the results.

In the new political makeup of the council, no party will have overall control. These are the results:

  • Labour – 24
  • Green – 24
  • Conservative – 14
  • LibDems – 8

Ahead of the election, the council had three vacant seats due to retirements and no party had the overall control of Bristol City Council after Jo Sergeant’s defection to the Green Party reduced the Labour Party to 33 councillors, while the opposition groups combined had 34.

Marvin Rees – who has been re-elected mayor – has a vote at full council, meaning Labour will have 25 votes at full council.

Local and mayoral elections were due to take place last May, but they were postponed at the beginning of the covid crisis last March because of the threat posed by the virus.

Here is our very handy tool to find out the results for every ward in the city:

Previous articleSite Agent – Civils – Gloucs
Next articleFiancée of millionaire shot by ex-lover recounts night of murder


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here